Broker Check

Federal Tax Filing Extension for California Disaster Areas

January 19, 2023

Because of the recent and continuing storms, the IRS announced a blanket extension of the deadline for tax payments and for tax returns where the tax payment or the tax return is coming from an individual or a business located in the “disaster area”.   

(California has not explicitly stated that they will follow the federal rule for this disaster; in the past, CA has conformed to the IRS rules.)

The “disaster area” includes the following Bay Area counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma.  

The following additional California counties are also under this rule:  Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Orange, Placer, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Ventura, Yolo, and Yuba.

Specific Items Affected

Tax returns with a deadline falling on or after January 8, 2023, and before May 15, 2023, are granted additional time to file through May 15, 2023. As a result, directly affected individuals and businesses will have until May 15 to file returns that were originally due during this period.

Tax payments due between January 8, 2023 and May 15, 2023, may now be paid at 5/15/2023.  The IRS specifically stated that Q4 payments that are due on January 17, 2023, can now be paid May 15 individual tax returns are due.  Again, CA has not explicitly conformed to the federal rule as of today.

Please contact us if you have any questions.